Use the database archive and purge operation to periodically save user
transactions, system events, and user session information from the Address Manager database
to files on the server. Doing this removes the information from the Address Manager
This information accumulates in the database over time and can substantially increase the
size of the database. Periodically archiving and purging this information reduces the
size and improves the performance of the database.
Warning: When performing
an archive and purge operation with a value set in months, the transaction
history information is NOT archived. Information is archived only when
running an archive and purge operation with a value set in days. Use caution
when performing this operation.
Archived data is written to the following files in the /data/archive directory on
the Address Manager server:
After you perform archive and purge, you should move these files from the
directory and store them in a permanent repository.
archive and purge operation overwrites these files each time you run an archive and
purge operation with a value set in days. Be sure to move these files from the
/data/archive directory before initiating the next archive and purge