DHCP Deployment Roles - BlueCat Address Manager - 9.0.0

Address Manager Administration Guide

BlueCat Address Manager

In Address Manager, each IP network must be assigned a primary DHCP deployment role before you can deploy it to a Managed Windows DHCP server.

There are only two types of DHCP deployment roles:
  • Master—indicates a functional DHCP server.
  • None—indicates that the server is not responsible for a particular DHCP scope.
You can add DHCP deployment roles at two levels, block level and network level:
  • If you add a deployment role at block level, all child blocks and networks in that block inherit that role, unless you configure a different role at the child block or network level.
  • If you add a deployment role at network level, it affects only that specific network.

During the import process, Address Manager assigns a DHCP primary role automatically at the network level for each imported scope.

For more information on DHCP deployment roles, refer to DHCP deployment roles.