Disabling servers - BlueCat Address Manager - 8.2.0

Address Manager Administration Guide

prodname
BlueCat Address Manager
version_custom
8.2.0

Disabling a server stops all deployments, DDNS updates, and all services on that server.

Disabling a managed server (a server under Address Manager control) with the Disable function informs Address Manager to stop its attempts to contact the server and maintain services.

Disable a server from the Address Manager user interface then remove it from Address Manager control from the DNS/DHCP Server Administration Console so it can be removed from the network for repair. A server must always be disabled in the Address Manager user interface before it is repaired or replaced, even if it has failed and is no longer connected to the network.

After repairing a disabled server, use the Replace function to reconnect the server.

Note: This function does not apply to Managed Windows Servers.

To disable a server:

  1. From the configuration drop-down menu, select a configuration.
  2. Select the Servers tab. Tabs remember the page you last worked on, so select the tab again to ensure you're on the Configuration information page.
  3. Under Servers, click a server name. The Details tab for the server opens.
  4. Click the server name menu and select Disable.
For most scenarios, you will remove the DNS/DHCP Server from Address Manager control to perform any necessary repairs or maintenance.