Editing Windows DHCP failover relationships - BlueCat Address Manager - 8.3.2

Address Manager Administration Guide

prodname
BlueCat Address Manager
version_custom
8.3.2

Modify the Primary and Secondary servers and failover mode of an existing Windows DHCP failover relationship (you cannot edit the name of an existing Windows DHCP failover relationship). Changing the Primary and Secondary servers will also update the associated DHCP Deployment Role.

Note: STOP! Before you edit a Windows DHCP failover relationship

Modifying an existing Windows DHCP failover relationship can impact multiple objects that are attached to this relationship, both in Address Manager and in your Windows DHCP configuration. BlueCat advises customers to use caution before modifying any parameters of an existing Windows DHCP failover relationship.

Any changes to an existing Windows DHCP failover relationship will be recorded in the Audit Log and the Transaction Log.

To edit a Windows DHCP failover relationship:

  1. Select the My IPAM tab. From the configuration drop-down menu, select a configuration.
  2. Select the Servers tab. Tabs remember the page you last worked on, so select the Servers tab again to ensure you are working with the Configuration information page.
  3. Under Windows DHCP Failover Relationships, click the name of a Windows DHCP failover relationship. The Windows DHCP Failover Relationship details page opens.
  4. Click the Relationship name menu and click Edit. The Edit Windows DHCP Failover Relationship page opens.
  5. To modify the Primary Server, click Remove to delete the existing server, then click Select. The Select Server Interface pop-up window opens.
    1. Under Servers, click the server you wish to use as the Primary.
    2. Under Server Interfaces, select the primary server interface and click Add. If necessary, click Up to return to the list of servers.
      The selected server and its IP address appear on the Edit Windows DHCP Failover Relationship page. If necessary, click Remove to delete the server and start again.
  6. To modify the Secondary Server, click Remove to delete the existing server, then click Select. The Select Server Interface pop-up window opens.
    1. Under Servers, click the server you wish to use as the Secondary.
    2. Under Server Interfaces, select the secondary server interface and click Add. If necessary, click Up to return to the list of servers.
      The selected server and its IP address appear on the Edit Windows DHCP Failover Relationship page. If necessary, click Remove to delete the server and start again.
  7. In the Max Client Lead Time field, enter a unit of time then select either Seconds, Minutes, Hours or Days from drop-down menu (by default, 1 hour). The MCLT is the maximum time that one server can extend a lease for a DHCP client beyond the time known by the partner server.
  8. From the Failover Mode drop-down menu select either Load Balance or Hot Standby (by default, Load Balance). Available options will change depending on your selection:
    • Hot Standby Percentage—enter the Hot Standby percentage for the Primary Server in the text field (by default, 95:5). Address Manager will automatically calculate the percentage for the Secondary Server.
    • Load Balance Percentage—enter the load balance percentage for the Primary Server in the text field (by default, 50:50). Address Manager will automatically calculate the percentage for the Secondary Server.
  9. OPTIONAL: BlueCat strongly recommends that customers do not use Automated State Switchover and the option is deselected by default. However, if modifying the option is necessary, select the State Switchover Interval check box, enter a time interval in the text field, then select either Seconds, Minutes, Hours, or Days from the drop-down menu (by default, 1 hour).
  10. OPTIONAL: By default, Shared Secret is deselected. However, if you want to enable authentication between the two Windows Servers, select the check box and enter the shared secret in the text field. The text will remain hidden like a password.
    The default Shared Secret is blank, meaning that no authentication is enabled.
  11. Under Change Control, add comments to describe your changes. By default, this step is optional but might be set as a requirement.
  12. Click Update.