Windows DHCP Client Deployment Options - BlueCat Address Manager - 8.3.1

Address Manager Administration Guide

prodname
BlueCat Address Manager
version_custom
8.3.1

DHCP client deployment options are used to assign information that clients require, such as the IP addresses of routers, DNS servers, and domain names. After you have defined vendor options and DHCP custom option definitions you can assign them as client options.

Mapping of Windows Options to Address Manager Client Options

Windows Options Address Manager Client Options
Windows Server Options DHCP Client Options at server level for importing and deploying
Windows Scope Options DHCP Client Options at IP network level for importing and deploying
Windows Reservation Options DHCP Client Options at DHCP Reserved level

Windows DHCP Options in Address Manager

When you import data from a Managed Windows DHCP server, any existing server-level, scope-level or reservation-level options are included during the import.

Address Manager imports server-level options at the Managed Windows server level, whether or not you are importing any DHCP scopes. During re-import, any changes made to server-level options on Windows are changed on Address Manager.
Note: Although server-level options are inherited by DHCP scopes on Windows when deployed, the server-level options are not visible at the IP network level in Address Manager.

Address Manager imports scope-level options at the IP network level. Each imported option appears with a server association in the user interface showing the server from which the option came. If you import the same option from multiple servers, the option appears multiple times at the network level, each with a separate server association. During re-import, any changes you made to scope-level options in Windows are changed on Address Manager.

Address Manager imports reservation-level options at the DHCP-reserved level. During re-import, any changes you made to reservation-level options in Windows are changed on Address Manager.
Note: While the managed server is in Read-Only mode, you cannot modify nor delete deployment options. You cannot add any new deployment options at the server level while the managed server is in Read-Only mode.