Purging Azure discovery and visibility systems - Adaptive Applications - BlueCat Gateway - 23.3.2

Cloud Discovery & Visibility Administration Guide

Locale
English
Product name
BlueCat Gateway
Version
23.3.2

In order to perform Microsoft Azure discovery and visibility jobs, CDV stores files, data, and other resources on the target Azure infrastructure. This data is used to track network resources so that they can be noted and passed on to Address Manager by visibility jobs. If you don't need to run discovery or visibility on a system anymore (or you simply want to clear out data for maintenance), you can purge it to remove these files.

CDV tracking resource files typically begin with the prefix BC-CDV-. Purging deletes all Service Bus and Event Grid Subscriptions that CDV uses to set up visibility on an Azure system. Purging removes only files that begin with BC-CDV-, plus files and data associated with discovery and visibility jobs that currently exist in CDV. When purging Azure systems, the purging operation is applied globally, to all areas of the Azure infrastructure that the subscription can access.

To purge an Azure visibility system:

  1. In CDV, go to the Azure Settings tab. (Click the Azure tab in the header, then click the Settings tab and expand Purge Visibility System.)

  2. If you're using Managed Identity credentials on an Azure Virtual Machine (VM), CDV will automatically log in using the Managed Identity role's assigned credentials. For more details, see Azure Credentials.

    If CDV did not automatically log in, you must enter the Azure credentials to use for the purging operation:

    1. In Directory (Tenant) ID, enter the tenant ID of the Service Principal account with which you authenticate with Azure.

    2. In Application (Client) ID, enter the client ID of the Service Principal account with which you will authenticate with Azure.

    3. In Client Secret Value, enter the secret value of the Service Principal account with which you will authenticate with Azure.



  3. When you're done, click Purge.