Reference: Visibility and Visibility Management - Adaptive Applications - BlueCat Gateway - 20.6.1

Cloud Discovery & Visibility Azure Administration Guide

prodname
BlueCat Gateway
version_custom
20.6.1

Once you have configured the workflow in BlueCat Gateway, you can configure the Cloud Discovery & Visibility Azure Adaptive Application to continuously monitor your Azure environment for changes to virtual networks, virtual machines, and load balancers.

To enable continuous monitoring, you must populate all information in the Azure Credentials and Visibility Options section of the workflow. Once you click START DISCOVERY, the monitoring settings are applied and Azure information is captured for the selected Azure resource group in the Visibility Status & History section. The following image displays information populated in this section.



When you create, update, or delete any of these resources in Azure, the workflow displays a message indicating the action on that resource and the information is updated in Address Manager. Messages appear for the following actions:

  • Virtual networks
    • A new virtual network has been created.
    • An existing virtual network has been updated by adding, updating, or deleting an IP address space.
    • An existing virtual network has been deleted.
    • A new subnet has been added to an existing virtual network.
    • A subnet has been deleted from an existing virtual network.
  • Virtual machines
    • A new virtual machine has been created.
    • An existing virtual network has changed state.
    • An existing virtual network has been deleted.
  • Load balancers
    • A new load balancer has been created.
    • An existing load balancer has been updated by adding or deleting a Frontend or Backend Pool.
    • An existing load balancer has been deleted.

The following image displays an example message indicating that a new virtual machine has been created.



Visibility Management

Once you select the Enable Visibility After Discovery checkbox in the Visibility Options section, a new visibility task is added to the Visibility Management table. You can configure multiple visibility jobs within the same resource group. When you start the discovery and visibility within the same resource group on a different configuration, a new visibility job is added to the Visibility Management table and a new record is added in the Visibility Status table.
Attention: If you have stopped a visibility job and restart the job, the visibility job does not detect changes that have been made in the cloud environment from the time that the visibility job was stopped. If you have stopped a visibility job, BlueCat recommends running a discovery job to retrieve the latest changes to the cloud environment and then restarting the visibility job to continuously monitor for additional changes.

The following image shows multiple visibility jobs within the Visibility Management table.



If you are an admin user, you can manage visibility jobs of non-admin users. When an admin user starts or stops a job of a non-admin user, a message appears when the non-admin user logs in, indicating that an admin user has started or stopped a visibility job owned by the non-admin user. The following image displays the message that appears when the non-admin user logs in.



Once a visibility job has been started or stopped by an admin user, other users cannot stop or start that visibility job. The checkbox next to the visibility job is disabled and only the admin user that started or stopped the job can select the checkbox to modify the visibility job status. The following image displays the disabled checkbox after an admin user has stopped and started a visibility job.