Viewing the service point version of a site - BlueCat DNS Edge

DNS Edge User Guide

prodname
BlueCat DNS Edge

You can view the version of software that has been configured to run on all service points that have been deployed from the site from the individual site details page or from the Service Point Version column on the Sites overview page.

  1. On the Sites page, select the site you want to work with.
  2. The Site details page displays the following information:
    • Applied Service Point Version: The current software version that has been configured to run on all service points that have been deployed from this site.
    • Latest Available Version: The latest available version of service point software.
    • Site Update Initiated: The timestamp of when the service point update selection was confirmed at the site level.
      Note: When updating the service point version on multiple sites, the Site Update Initiated of the selected sites will display the same timestamp. For a more accurate representation of when the update was initiated on each service point, refer to the Update Initiated field in the service point details page.
    • Site Update Status: The status of the last service point update. The individual update status of each connected service point is cumulatively displayed in this field as follows:
      • Completed - All connected service points deployed from this Site were successfully updated to the service point version configured at the Site.
      • In progress - At least one of the connected service points deployed from this site is updating to the service point version configured at the Site.
      • Rolling back - At least one of the connected service points deployed from this Site could not successfully update to the service point version configured at the Site and is currently rolling back to the service point version that was running before the update was initiated.
      • Rollback completed - At least one of the connected service points deployed from this Site could not successfully update to the service point version configured at the Site and successfully rolled back to the service point version that was running before the update was initiated.
      • Failed - If at least one of the connected service points deployed from this Site has one of the following issues:
        • The service point could not successfully update to the service point version configured at the Site and was unable to successfully roll back to the service point version that was running before the updated was initiated.
        • The service point returns the Timed out state.
      • Unknown - The service point update status could not be determined across the Site.
      • No connected service points - The service point update was applied to a Site that contains no connected service points.
        Note:
        • The Site Update Status of the site uses the following precedence order based on the statuses returned by the service points:
          • Failed
          • Rolling back
          • Rollback completed
          • In progress
          • Completed
          • Unknown
          • No connected service points
        • A service point returns the Timed out status when it could not return its update progress to the site within 15 minutes of it starting the service point update. The service point update status will continue to display the Timed out status until the next attempted update.

          You can review the status of each service point deployed from a site by reviewing the Site details page or by reviewing the individual Service Point details page.

          If your service point returns the Timed out status:
          • Review the Current Version and Applied Version field of the Service Point details page. If the versions are the same, the update applied successfully but the Update Status was not updated correctly, and no further action is required.
          • If the versions listed in the Current Version and Applied Version fields are different, retry the service point update. For more information, refer to Retrying the service point update.
          • If the Connection State of the service point is Disconnected, review the Cloud access requirements and the connection between the service point and the DNS Edge Cloud to ensure that the service point can communicate with the DNS Edge Cloud. Once the service point Connection State returns Connected, you can retry the service point update.

          If the issue persists and you can't successfully update the service point, contact BlueCat Customer Care for assistance.

        • If the status of the Site Update Status is Rollback completed or Failed, you can retry the update. For more information, refer to Retrying the service point update.

    From the Sites overview page, you can use the Applied Service Point Version column to quickly view the configured service point version of that site. If you have automatic service point updates enabled, this column displays the latest service point version for all sites.

    The following icons might appear next to the service point version and indicate the following:
    • - The service point Update Status of the Site is Rolling back, Rollback completed, Failed, or Unknown.
    • - The service point Update Status of the Site is In progress or No connected service points.
    The icon is only visible to System Administrators and is greyed out if you have not disabled automatic service point updates. If you have disabled automatic service point updates and your sites are not running the latest service point update, a small circle displays at the top right of this icon, indicating that a new service point version is available to be deployed to your sites. For more information on manually updating the service point version of sites, refer to Manually update service point versions.